Grand Theft: Understand the Charges and Penalties
In Florida, the law distinctively distinguishes between grand theft and petty theft. The distinction mainly puts into consideration the value of the stolen property. However, stealing some sensitive property such as emergency medical equipment or law enforcement equipment is grand theft even when the property’s monetary value is not high.
This article discusses some of the criminal actions that qualify as grand theft crimes under each category. It also highlights the penalties of each category of grand theft crimes.
In Florida, grand theft crimes are charged as either third, second, or first-degree felonies. Each category bears different consequences, but you should not take any of them lightly.
Read on to understand the criminal actions that fall under each of the three categories of grand theft crimes and the penalties for all the categories of crimes.
Some Basics on Theft Crimes
Under F.S. 812.014, an individual is guilty of theft if they knowingly take another person’s property. A person is guilty of committing theft when they take another person’s property with the intention of either;
- permanently or temporarily depriving the victim of their rights to the obtained property and benefits from the obtained property.
- permanently or temporarily using the property themselves or having someone else, who is not the property owner, use the property.
Charges and Penalties of Grand Theft
Grand theft charges fall under three categories. These are;
- grand theft in the third-degree
- grand theft in the second-degree
- grand theft in the first-degree
Grand Theft in the Third Degree
Anyone found guilty of committing grand theft in the third-degree stands to face up to 5 years in jail or probation. The charge also carries a fine that does not exceed $5,000.
Grand theft in the third degree includes theft of;
- property whose value does not fall below $750 and does not exceed $19,999.
- a firearm.
- a fire extinguisher.
- a motor vehicle.
- any stop sign.
- anhydrous ammonia.
- a codicil, a will, or other testamentary instruments.
Grand Theft in the Second Degree
A crime of grand theft in the second degree carries a prison or probation time of up to 15 years. It also carries a fine that does not exceed $10,000.
Grand theft in the second degree includes theft of;
- property whose value does not fall below $20,000 and does not exceed $99,999.
- cargo whose value is not less than $50,00. The cargo must have entered the stream of intrastate or interstate commerce.
- an emergency medical equipment whose value is $300 or above.
- a law enforcement equipment, obtained from an emergency vehicle, and whose value is no less than $300.
Grand Theft in the First Degree
This first-degree felony carries a sentence of up to 30 years in prison. Guilty people also stand to pay a fine of up to $10,000.
Grand theft in the first degree includes theft of;
- of a property whose value is $100,000 and above.
- a semitrailer positioned by a law enforcement officer.
Let Us Assist You Today
If you are currently facing grand theft allegations, contact the qualified Fort Lauderdale criminal attorneys at Joyce A. Julian, P.A. at 954-467-6656 to receive proper legal representation.